Wes Morgan

Morgan Seals A Crucial Point At Old Trafford

Leicester City’s third-last Premier League fixture of 2020/21 sees them face Manchester United at Old Trafford – a venue where the Foxes secured a point that ultimately won them the title in 2016.
More on this story...

City will face Ole Gunnar Solskjær’s side on Tuesday and have shared some memorable encounters with the Manchester outfit over the years, but few were more signifiant than a visit to Old Trafford in early May five years ago...

Expand photo
Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha
Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha

The Club's late Chairman, Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha, salutes the Leicester City fans after the 1-1 draw. The Foxes would go on to win the Premier League a day later.

Manchester United 1 Leicester City 1
Sunday 1 May, 2016
Premier League
Old Trafford

It was on Sunday 1 May, 2016, that City earned perhaps their most important point against Man Utd, as a 1-1 draw at Old Trafford proved enough for them to be crowned champions of England a day later.

The Foxes, managed by Claudio Ranieri, fell behind after only eight minutes, when France international attacker Anthony Martial converted Antonio Valencia’s delivery, but, in true Leicester City fashion, they were on level terms nine minutes later.

Expand photo
Wes Morgan
Wes Morgan

The Leicester City captain's header cancelled out Manchester United's early opener at Old Trafford.

Midfielder Danny Drinkwater’s inch-perfect delivery was headed home past Man Utd stopper David De Gea by skipper Wes Morgan, who wheeled away in celebration before saluting the Club’s travelling supporters.

Drinkwater was later sent off after picking up two bookings, but City stood strong to earn a valuable point. Tottenham Hotspur’s 2-2 draw with Chelsea a little over 24 hours later saw the Foxes confirmed as 2015/16 Premier League champions.

It was a story that shocked the footballing world, and one that will forever be remembered as one of the greatest sporting achievements of all time.

City: Schmeichel; Simpson, Morgan, Huth, Fuchs; Mahrez (King 88'), Kanté, Drinkwater, Schlupp (Albrighton 77'); Okazaki (Gray 67'), Ulloa.

Subs not used: Schwarzer, Chilwell, Wasilewski, Amartey.

Goal: Morgan 17'.

Attendance: 75,275.

Latest News

Latest Galleries

Latest Videos

Leicester City Crest

Latest News

More Videos

Latest Images