Jamie Vardy

Classic Encounter: Foxes End 24-Year Wait For Gunners Victory

Leicester City ended a 24-year wait for a Premier League victory over Arsenal at King Power Stadium on Wednesday 9 May, 2018.
More on this story...

The Foxes, who also defeated the Gunners 3-0 on home soil last season, welcome Unai Emery's men to Filbert Way on Saturday in the Premier League (5:30pm GMT kick-off).

Ahead of the encounter, LCFC.com continues its series of classic encounters, remembering a mild May evening when City finally ended a winless streak against the 13-time champions. 

Leicester City 3 Arsenal 1
Wednesday 9 May, 2018
Premier League
King Power Stadium

Expand photo
Kelechi Iheanacho
Kelechi Iheanacho

Kelechi Iheanacho celebrates his opening goal against the Gunners.

The penultimate game of Arsène Wenger's 22-year spell as Arsenal manager ended in a 3-1 victory for Leicester City over the north London outfit in May 2018.

City had not defeated the Gunners in the top flight since November 1994, courtesy of goals from Ian Ormondroyd and David Lowe, despite making 22 attempts over the years.

That run finally came to an end, however, thanks to the goalscoring exploits of Kelechi Iheanacho, Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez at King Power Stadium at the end of the 2017/18 season. 

Expand photo
Riyad Mahrez
Riyad Mahrez

Riyad Mahrez made sure of the result in the latter moments on Filbert Way.

Iheanacho fired a powerful effort past Petr Čech after poor defending from the visitors, who had 20-year-old defender Konstantinos Mavropanos sent off 92 seconds later for fouling the Nigerian international.

Wenger's men levelled through Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, but Vardy's penalty, and Mahrez's late breakaway goal sealed victory for the hosts, who finished the season in ninth place under Claude Puel.

The following weekend was equally as dramatic, but less successful, for the Foxes, as Puel's side were defeated 5-4 by Tottenham Hotspur on the final day of the campaign at Wembley Stadium.

City: Jakupović; Simpson (Dragović 82'), Morgan (c), Maguire, Fuchs; Mahrez, Choudhury, Silva, Diabaté (Gray 72'); Iheanacho (Barnes 88'), Vardy

Subs not used: Hamer, Iborra, Benalouane, Thomas

Goals: Iheanacho 14', Vardy pen 76', Mahrez 90'

Latest News

Latest Galleries

Latest Videos

Leicester City Crest

Latest News

More Videos

Latest Images