FA Women's Continental Tyres League Cup Trophy

Everything You Need To Know About The League Cup Draw

The group stage draw for the 2021/22 FA Women’s Continental Tyres League Cup will take place this Friday.

The Foxes will be hoping to go one better than last season’s historic run to the semi-finals of the competition, after qualifying for the knockout stages for the first time in the Club’s history.

Ahead of the 2021/22 draw taking place, here’s a look at all the details, including how the group stage format of the competition will work this season… 

When is the draw?

The group stage draw will take place at 1:15pm BST on Friday 30 July, 2021.

How can I follow it?

The draw will be broadcast live on talkSPORT 2. Reaction to the draw will also be provided on LCFC Women's official social media channels and LCFC.com.

Who's in the draw?

The FA Women’s Continental Tyres League Cup is a competition involving the 24 teams from the top two divisions of English women’s football – the Barclays FA Women’s Super League and the FA Women’s Championship.

The three clubs that have qualified for the 2021/22 UEFA Women’s Champions League (Chelsea, Manchester City and Arsenal) will enter from the first knockout stage (the quarter-finals), should they progress into round three of the European competition.

If eliminated at round one or two, they will enter the Continental Cup at the group stage and be drawn in an existing group of four teams.

How does it work?


LCFC Women have been placed in the northern section of the draw, alongside eight other teams, to make up two of the pools. The first five numbers drawn will be placed in Group A. The remaining four numbers will be placed in Group B. As in previous years, every team will play the other teams in their group once.

The teams are as follows:

  1. Durham
  2. Liverpool
  3. Blackburn Rovers
  4. Sheffield United
  5. Manchester United
  6. Everton
  7. Sunderland
  8. Leicester City
  9. Aston Villa

What about the other side of the draw?


In the southern section, there are 12 teams. The first four numbers out of the bag will be placed in Group C. The next four numbers drawn will be allocated a place in Group D, while the final four numbers will be placed in Group E.

The teams are as follows:

  1. Coventry United
  2. Crystal Palace
  3. London City Lionesses
  4. Watford
  5. Charlton Athletic
  6. Brighton & Hove Albion
  7. West Ham United
  8. Bristol City
  9. Birmingham City
  10. Reading
  11. Tottenham Hotspur
  12. Lewes

When will the games take place?

Group stage fixtures will be held on the following dates. They are all scheduled for midweek, apart from the weekend of 4-5 December.

Leicester could be drawn in Group A, which would provide an extra gameweek, due to the number of teams in the group. Fixtures will be finalised at a later date.

- 13/14 October, 2021

- 3/4 November, 2021 (only for Group A which has an extra team)

- 17/18 November, 2021

- 4/5 December, 2021 (only for Group A which has an extra team)

- 15/16 December, 2021

Latest News

Latest Galleries

Latest Videos

Leicester City Crest

Latest News

More Videos

Latest Images