Kasper Schmeichel

Schmeichel Nominated For Yashin Trophy

Leicester City goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel has been nominated for the prestigious Yashin Trophy as part of the 2021 France Football awards.

Kasper Schmeichel earns Yashin Trophy nomination
- The Leicester City No.1 is one of 10 goalkeepers shortlisted for the award
- Schmeichel lifted the Emirates FA Cup with the Foxes in 2021

Schmeichel is selected alongside nine other goalkeeper from across Europe, including Real Madrid's Thibaut Courtois and Bayern Munich's Manuel Neuer. 

The award is named after Soviet Union international Lev Yashin, who remains the only goalkeeper to win the Ballon d'Or, in 1963.

Danish international Schmeichel has enjoyed a stellar year for club and country, which included captaining Brendan Rodgers' side to FA Cup glory, for the first time in the Club's history, in May 2021.

Schmeichel had a big part to play in overcoming Chelsea in the final at Wembley Stadium, too, making a superb late stop to keep out Mason Mount after Youri Tielemans' sensational strike for the Foxes.

The shot-stopper then skippered the side once more as they triumphed in the 2021 FA Community Shield, keeping another clean sheet as Leicester defeated Manchester City 1-0 in the traditional curtain-raiser in August 2021. 

This year also marked a significant milestone for Schmeichel, who reached the landmark of 10 years with the Club. Promotion to the Premier League, the Great Escape, winning the Premier League title, entering the UEFA Champions League for the first time - and winning a maiden FA Cup - have all come during his decade-long service. 

The 34-year-old also helped Denmark to reach the semi-finals of UEFA Euro 2020, the furthest the Danes have progressed in any major tournament since winning the European Championship in 1992, playing every game in this summer's competition.

The full list of nominees for the 2021 Yashin Trophy:

- Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City, Denmark)
- Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain, Italy)
- Edouard Mendy (Chelsea, Senegal)
- Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
- Keylor Navas (PSG, Costa Rica)
- Emiliano Martínez (Aston Villa, Argentina)
- Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich, Germany)
- Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid, Slovenia)
- Samir Handanović (Inter Milan, Slovenia)
- Ederson (Manchester City, Brazil)

The awards ceremony, which also includes the Ballon d'Or, will be held at Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris on Monday 29 November.

Latest News

Latest Galleries

Latest Videos

Leicester City Crest

Latest News

More Videos

Latest Images