Foxes Duo In PFA Team Of The Year

The performances of key City duo Wes Morgan and Kasper Schmeichel have been recognised by the Professional Footballers’ Association with their inclusion in the npower Championship Team of the Year.

Only fellow play-off hopefuls Crystal Palace had more than City’s two representatives in the team, as the accolades provide both with deserved recognition for some consistently brilliant individual performances this term.

Club captain Wes Morgan has been a rock at the heart of the defence, and his leadership has helped City’s back line become one of the meanest in the league, with just 46 goals conceded.

The 29-year-old’s experience has also helped bring the best out of young Manchester United loanee Michael Keane, who has excelled under Morgan’s guidance at centre half since joining in January.

The 2012/13 campaign has also proved to be another impressive one for City’s Danish goalkeeper, Schmeichel, who made his full international debut against Macedonia in February.

Schmeichel has now passed 100 appearances for The Foxes, and the 26-year-old has made countless saves to keep his side in matches throughout the season – a stoppage time penalty save against Middlesbrough and a stunning reaction stop against Blackburn amongst his highlights.

Both members of City’s back five are also in contention to take City’s coveted Player of the Season award at Monday night’s End of Season Awards Dinner along with several other members of the squad.

Championship Team of the Year in full: Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City), Kieran Trippier (Burnley), Wes Morgan (Leicester City), Mark Hudson (Cardiff City), Wayne Bridge (Brighton and Hove Albion), Wilfried Zaha (Crystal Palace), Thomas Ince (Blackpool), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City), Yannick Bolasie (Crystal Palace), Glenn Murray (Crystal Palace), Matej Vydra (Watford).

Latest News

Latest Galleries

Latest Videos

Leicester City Crest

Latest News

More Videos

Latest Images