Morgan Named Double Player of the Year

Leicester City captain Wes Morgan crowned an outstanding campaign by taking the two major prizes at the Club’s End of Season Awards on Monday night.

The Foxes skipper was voted Player of the Year by the Club’s supporters and Players’ Player of the Year by his team mates, as he marked his first full season at King Power Stadium with a prestigious double.

Frenchman Anthony Knockaert was also among the honours at Monday night’s ceremony in the Walkers Hall at King Power Stadium – taking home the Young Player of the Year award and the coveted Goal of the Season prize for his stunning ‘scorpion’ strike at Huddersfield Town back in October.

Midfielder Michael Cain’s promising displays for the Club’s Under-18s and table-topping Under-21 side gave him the edge in a close race for the Academy Player of the Year honour, with forwards Harry Panayiotou and Joe Dodoo also in the running.

Manager Nigel Pearson and his coaching staff selected the crucial earlier this month as their Performance of the Year, while goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel was recognised with the Champagne Moment for his game-changing save in the 3-0 win over Blackburn Rovers in February.

Morgan, 29, has been a pillar of consistency for City this season, making 48 appearances in all competitions and a pivotal contribution to one of the npower Championship’s best defensive records.

Handed the Club captaincy last summer following his January move from Nottingham Forest, the powerful centre-back has missed just one league game all season and .

Morgan led the supporters’ vote ahead of 2012 winner Schmeichel and central defensive partner Michael Keane, who has been on loan with the Foxes from Manchester United since October. Schmeichel was also nominated along with Paul Konchesky in the players’ poll.

Keane, 20, was also in the running for the Young Player of the Year award, but was just edged out by 21-year-old Knockaert, who has caught the eye with some stunning goals and magical performances since his summer move from French club Guingamp.

Stay logged on to and Foxes Player for action and reaction from Monday night’s event.

Player of the Year sponsored by GC Metals

Winner: Wes Morgan

Nominated: Kasper Schmeichel, Michael Keane

Players’ Player of the Year sponsored by Upton Steel

Winner: Wes Morgan

Nominated: Kasper Schmeichel, Paul Konchesky

Young Player of the Year sponsored by Farndon Foods

Winner: Anthony Knockaert

Nominated: Michael Keane, Matty James

Goal of the Season sponsored by Display Logistics

Winner: Anthony Knockaert (v Huddersfield away)

Nominated: Paul Konchesky (v Wolves a), Anthony Knockaert (v Huddersfield h), David Nugent (v Nottm Forest h)

Academy Player of the Year sponsored by King Power

Winner: Michael Cain

Nominated: Harry Panayiotou, Joe Dodoo

Performance of the Year sponsored by Pyramid Carpets

Leicester City 3 Bolton Wanderers 2 – Tue 16 Apr, 2013

Champagne Moment sponsored by G.H.MUMM

Kasper Schmeichel’s save v Blackburn Rovers – Tue 26 Feb, 2013

Latest News

Latest Galleries

Latest Videos

Leicester City Crest

Latest News

More Videos

Latest Images